Soul

William Bell & Judy Clay

William Bell was born William Yarbrough in 1939 in Memphis. Judy Clay was born Judith Grace Guions in St. Pauls, North Carolina, just one year earlier. Around thirty years later they teamed up to cut a track at Stax Records in Memphis, “Private Number”, that achieved success in the UK, reaching number […]

Read More

Johnnie Taylor at Stax

Johnnie Taylor was born in Crawfordsville, Arkansas, but grew up in West Memphis, Arkansas. Like most black kids of his generation, he was introduced to singing and performing through the church. In 1953 he joined a gospel group called The Highway Q.C.’s, replacing Lou Rawls, who had joined in 1951 when Sam Cooke […]

Read More

Dusty In Memphis

“You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me” was a massive hit for Dusty Springfield in 1966, but it was followed by a fallow year in terms of chart success. So Dusty was looking for a way to regain her popularity in the UK and the USA and came up […]

Read More

Isaac Hayes & David Porter

David Porter was born in 1941 in Memphis. While he was still a student at high school, Porter began to develop an interest in music as a career. He was working at a grocery store opposite Satellite records, so he decided to see whether the recently-formed record label might be […]

Read More

Otis Redding

Otis Redding’s first release was a song entitled “These Arms Of Mine” recorded in August 1962. The final song he recorded before his death was (“Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay” in December 1967. In those five years he became the mainstay of Stax Records and a global star […]

Read More

Etta James at Chicago

Etta James’ first album with the Chess organisation was “at last!”, released on Argo Records in November 1960, produced by Phil and Leonard Chess. She helped the Chess organisation to enter the 1960s with a bang with four top five singles on the Billboard Hot R&B Soul singles chart. The […]

Read More

Irma Thomas

Irma Thomas has been a mainstay of the New Orleans sound since the age of 18 when her first single, “Don’t Mess with My Man”, was released on the local Ron label in late 1959. It reached number 22 on the US Billboard R&B chart. When she then joined the New Orleans-based […]

Read More

List of Legendary Soul and R&B Artists

  List of Websites Teddy Pendergrass: www.teddypendergrass.com The O’Jays: www.theojayshomepage.com Gerald Levert: www.geraldlevert.com Patti LaBelle: www.pattisbutterflies.com Barry White: www.barrywhite.us Stevie Wonder: www.steviewonder.net The Dells: www.themightydells.com Lou Rawls: www.lourawls.com Al Green: www.algreenmusic.com Isaac Hayes: www.isaachayes.com Freda Payne: www.fredapaynes.com Millie Jackson: www.weirdwreckuds.com# Natalie Cole: www.nataliecole.com The Whispers: www.thewhispers.com Stephanie Mills: www.stephaniemillsmusic.com Bill […]

Read More